Innovation Network

Mediasphere Meetups

The combination of science and business offers great potential for creative knowledge transfer, art, culture and innovation. In exchange with other co-thinkers and pioneers from a wide range of industries, new ideas and joint projects are created. Therefore, the Mediasphere For Nature’s innovation network connects the Museum für Naturkunde with a constantly growing number of small and medium-sized companies, freelancers, associations and research groups from the creative, media and educational sectors. Since 2019, regular Mediasphere Meetups have been held at the museum, at which representatives from business, science and politics present innovations, provide insights into their work and introduce funding opportunities and ideas for product development. Open exchange and free networking are the cornerstones of our meetups. We will keep you informed about upcoming events on Twitter and on our blog.


Photos: Mediasphere Meetup 3.0 with representatives of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy; VR application in the experimental field (Photos: Dimitra Laina, MfN)
Photos: Mediasphere Meetup 3.0 with representatives of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy; VR application in the experimental field (Photos: Dimitra Laina, MfN)

External Events


Photos clockwise: Flora Fauna Future innovation workshop (Mina Gerngross), Biological Transformation - Learning from Nature for Technology and Business (Nadja Heinisch), SnailSnap on MS Science (Hwa Ja Götz, MfN), BVG Moth (Chiswick Chap; edited by Yun Kuo)
Photos clockwise: Flora Fauna Future innovation workshop (Mina Gerngross), Biological Transformation - Learning from Nature for Technology and Business (Nadja Heinisch), SnailSnap on MS Science (Hwa Ja Götz, MfN), BVG Moth (Chiswick Chap; edited by Yun Kuo)

Together with our cooperation partners, the Mediasphere For Nature team develops event formats which further educate and strengthen the network within the respective industry. In collaboration with the Fiction Forum of the Competence Centre for Cultural and Creative Industries, the innovation workshop FLORA FAUNA FUTURE took place in October 2019. In March 2019, Jens Dobberthin headed the Artificial Intelligence (AI) station at the “Gestaltungsmaschine Innovationcamp” and, together with the participants, developed a moth whose mimicry mechanisms had adapted to the pattern of Berlin’s subway seats.

Further examples of affairs with museum-externals include the series of events on bionics and evolutionary management with our partners Evoco and Biokon as well as a training program of the Biomimicry Academy on Bioinspired Circular Innovation with presence units in the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. In addition, the Mediasphere For Nature provided several media packages for the culture hackathon Coding da Vinci, which resulted in successful projects such as the splendid beetle poster by Michael Scheuerl, AI apps like SnailSnap or the VR application Skelex. The SnailSnap app toured through Germany and Austria in summer 2019 on the MS Wissenschaft and was presented in detail by the Mediasphere team at the Long Night of Science in Magdeburg.

Expert Consultancy


Photo: Ornithological collection curator Pascal Eckhoff advising Distant Relative on the digitization of a historical barn owl (Photo: Nadja Tata, MfN)
Photo: Ornithological collection curator Pascal Eckhoff advising Distant Relative on the digitization of a historical barn owl (Photo: Nadja Tata, MfN)

With scientific expertise and professional advice, product and service innovations can be specifically promoted. Scientifically sound content is a significant unique selling point that makes products and services stand out from the crowd. To benefit from the expertise of our institution’s employees, the Mediasphere For Nature also offers its cooperation partners networking opportunities with and exclusive access to our experts for consulting purposes.

How is the plumage of a barn owl structured? Can spider silk be used for textile production? How do poison dart frogs from the Amazon perceive their environment? What is the most effective digitization method for creating a 3D model from a swallowtail butterfly? How does stridulation work, with which grasshoppers produce their sounds? What do stromatolites tell us about the history of the earth? What were the goals of the first German deep-sea expedition on the Valdivia? The museum’s experts will advise you on questions concerning e.g. ornithology, entomology, mineralogy, paleontology, on content from the archives of the historical division and, of course, digitization.

Communication

We regularly inform the members of our innovation network via our Twitter account, an email newsletter and blog posts on our website. If you would like to be included in our newsletter, e.g. with invitations to Mediasphere Meetups and information on current funding programs, please send us an email to mediasphere@mfn.berlin.

Innovationsnetzwerk

Mediasphere Meetups

Die Verknüpfung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft bietet ein großes Potenzial für kreativen Wissenstransfer, Kunst, Kultur und Innovation. Im engen Austausch mit anderen Mitdenkern und Vorreitern aus den verschiedensten Branchen entstehen Ideen und Co-Kreationen. Die Mediasphere For Nature verbindet das Museum für Naturkunde über das Innovationsnetzwerk mit einer stetig wachsenden Anzahl aus kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen, Selbstständigen, Verbänden und Forschergruppen aus der Kreativ-, Medien- und Bildungsbranche. Seit 2019 finden im Museum regelmäßige Mediasphere Meetups statt, bei denen VertreterInnen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik Innovationen präsentieren, Einblicke in ihre Arbeit geben sowie Fördermöglichkeiten und Ideen für Produktentwicklungen vorstellen. Offener Austausch und freies Netzwerken sind die Grundpfeiler unserer Meetups. Über die nächsten Veranstaltungen informieren wir Sie auf Twitter und auf unserem Blog.


Foto: Mediasphere Meetup 3.0 mit Vertretern des BMWI; VR-Anwendung im Experimentierfeld (Fotos: Dimitra Laina, MfN)
Foto: Mediasphere Meetup 3.0 mit Vertretern des BMWI; VR-Anwendung im Experimentierfeld (Fotos: Dimitra Laina, MfN)

Externe Veranstaltungen


Fotos im Uhrzeigersinn: Flora Fauna Future Innovationsworkshop (Mina Gerngross), Biologische Transformation – Von der Natur für die Technik und Wirtschaft lernen (Nadja Heinisch), SnailSnap auf der MS Wissenschaft (Hwa Ja Götz, MfN), BVG-Motte (Chiswick Chap; bearbeitet von Yun Kuo)
Fotos im Uhrzeigersinn: Flora Fauna Future Innovationsworkshop (Mina Gerngross), Biologische Transformation – Von der Natur für die Technik und Wirtschaft lernen (Nadja Heinisch), SnailSnap auf der MS Wissenschaft (Hwa Ja Götz, MfN), BVG-Motte (Chiswick Chap; bearbeitet von Yun Kuo)

Das Team der Mediasphere For Nature entwickelt gemeinsam mit seinen Kooperationspartnern Veranstaltungsformate, die der Weiterbildung dienen und das Netzwerk innerhalb der jeweiligen Branche stärken. Zusammen mit dem Fiction Forum des Kompetenzzentrums Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft fand im Oktober 2019 der Innovationsworkshop FLORA FAUNA FUTURE statt. Beim Innovationcamp Gestaltungsmaschine leitete Jens Dobberthin im März 2019 die Station Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und entwickelte gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmern eine Motte, deren Mimikry-Mechanismen sich dem Muster der Berliner U-Bahnsitze angepasst hatten.

Weitere Beispiele für Veranstaltungen mit Museums-Externen umfassen die Veranstaltungsreihe zum Thema Bionik und Evolutionsmanagement mit unseren Partnern Evoco und Biokon sowie ein Trainingsprogramm der Biomimicry Academy zum Bioinspired Circular Innovator mit Präsenzeinheiten im Museum für Naturkunde. Des Weiteren stellte die Mediasphere For Nature mehrfach Medienpakete für den Kulturhackathon Coding da Vinci bereit, aus dem erfolgreiche Projekte wie das Prachtkäferposter von Michael Scheuerl, KI-Apps wie SnailSnap oder die VR-Anwendung Skelex entstanden. Die SnailSnap-App tourte im Sommer 2019 auf der MS Wissenschaft durch Deutschland und Österreich und wurde vom Mediasphere-Team ausführlich auf der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften in Magdeburg vorgestellt.

Expertenberatung


Foto: Ornithologischer Sammlungspfleger Pascal Eckhoff bei der Beratung von Distant Relative zur Digitalisierung einer historischen Schleiereule (Foto: Nadja Tata, MfN)
Foto: Ornithologischer Sammlungspfleger Pascal Eckhoff bei der Beratung von Distant Relative zur Digitalisierung einer historischen Schleiereule (Foto: Nadja Tata, MfN)

Mit wissenschaftlicher Expertise und Fachberatung lassen sich bedeutende Produkt- und Service-Innovationen gezielt fördern. Wissenschaftlich fundierte Inhalte sind signifikante Alleinstellungsmerkmale, die Produkte und Dienstleistungen aus der Masse hervorstechen lassen. Um von der Expertise der Mitarbeitenden unseres Hauses zu profitieren, bietet die Mediasphere For Nature ihren Kooperationspartnern auch die Vernetzung mit und den exklusiven Zugang zu unseren Expertinnen und Experten für Beratungszwecke an.

Wie ist das Federkleid einer Schleiereule aufgebaut? Lässt sich Spinnenseide für die Textilherstellung einsetzen? Wie nehmen Pfeilgiftfrösche aus dem Amazonas ihre Umgebung wahr? Was ist die sinnvollste Digitalisierungsmethode, um aus einem Schwalbenschwanz-Schmetterling ein 3D-Modell zu erstellen? Wie funktioniert die Stridulation, mit der Heidegrashüpfer ihre Laute erzeugen? Was erzählen uns Stromatolithen über die Erdgeschichte? Welche Ziele verfolgte die erste deutsche Tiefsee-Expedition auf der Valdivia? Die Experten des Museums beraten Sie zu Fragen z.B. aus den Bereichen Ornithologie, Entomologie, Mineralogie, Paläontologie, aus dem Archiv der historischen Arbeitsstelle und natürlich zur Digitalisierung.

Kommunikation

Wir informieren die Mitglieder unseres Innovationsnetzwerkes regelmäßig über unseren Twitter-Account, einen Email-Newsletter sowie mit Blogbeiträgen auf unserer Website. Wenn auch Sie in unseren Newsletter aufgenommen werden wollen, z.B. mit Einladungen zu Mediasphere Meetups und Infos zu aktuellen Förderprogrammen, senden Sie uns bitte eine Email an mediasphere@mfn.berlin.