About us

The Mediasphere For Nature is the multimedia application lab at the Museum of Natural History Berlin. The Mediasphere emerged from the project “Natur History 365/24 - Multimedia Application Lab of the Museum of Natural History Berlin”, which was funded by the Berlin senate and the European Fund for Regional Development from October 2016 to January 2020.

The focus of the project is to answer the question of how digital media of the Museum of Natural History can be shared and used sustainably. We are actively shaping the museum’s digital offerings and work together closely with business partners from various industries. As the first and currently only application lab of a research museum within the Leibniz Association, we conduct applied research and break new ground.

In recent years, we have established numerous collaborations with small and medium-sized companies and associations, based on the museum’s rich treasure of digital media and the expertise of its scientists. In the future, the Mediasphere For Nature will continue to be the first point of contact for all those who wish to develop media-based product and service innovations together with the Museum of Natural History.

As an integral part of the research area Digital World and Information Science, we conduct applied research and actively participate in the scientific community. We are open to research cooperation that helps us and other institutions to make their cultural heritage tangible and digitally accessible. We are also interested in all forms of creative re-use.

To achieve our goals we focus on 3 core activities:

  • We offer our digital media openly and as barrier-free as possible. Narratives help to make the media tangible from different perspectives.
  • We promote the exchange between museums and the users of our media in an innovation network.
  • In our lab we work together with our partners on new ideas and their realization.

Team

Jens Dobberthin

Jens Dobberthin
Scientific co-direction & multimedia development and research

Dr. Anke Hoffmann

Dr. Anke Hoffmann
Coordination of media services

Dr. Jana Hoffmann

Dr. Jana Hoffmann
Scientific counsel

Tina Schneider

Tina Schneider
Scientific co-direction & digital media

Nadja Tata

Nadja Tata
Project coordination and public relations

Über Uns

Die Mediasphere For Nature ist das multimediale Applikationslabor am Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Hervorgegangen ist die Mediasphere aus dem Projekt „Naturkunde 365/24 – Multimediales Applikationslabor des Berliner Naturkundemuseums“, welches von Oktober 2016 bis Januar 2020 vom Berliner Senat und dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung gefördert wurde.

Im Mittelpunkt steht für uns die Beantwortung der Frage, wie digitale Medien des Museums für Naturkunde nachhaltig geteilt und genutzt werden können. Wir gestalten aktiv die digitalen Angebote des Museums und arbeiten gezielt mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft zusammen. Als erstes und derzeitig einziges Applikationslabor eines Forschungsmuseums der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft betreiben wir angewandte Forschung und betreten neue Pfade.

In den vergangenen Jahren entstanden durch die Zusammenarbeit mit kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen und Vereinen zahlreiche Kooperationen, die auf dem reichen Schatz an digitalen Medien des Museums sowie der Expertise seiner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler beruhen. Auch in Zukunft ist die Mediasphere For Nature erste Anlaufstelle für alle diejenigen, die medienbasierte Produkt- und Service-Innovationen gemeinsam mit dem Museum für Naturkunde entwickeln möchten.

Als integraler Bestandteil des Forschungsbereichs Digitale Welt und Informationswissenschaft betreiben wir angewandte Forschung und bringen uns aktiv in die wissenschaftliche Community ein. Wir sind offen für Forschungskooperation, die uns und anderen Institutionen helfen, ihr kulturelles Erbe erlebbar und digital zugänglich zu machen. Darüber hinaus interessieren uns alle Formen der kreativen Nachnutzung.

Zur Erreichung unserer Ziele fokussieren wir uns auf 3 Kernaktivitäten:

  • Wir bieten unsere digitalen Medien offen und möglichst barrierefrei an. Narrative helfen dabei, die Medien multimodal erfahrbar zu machen.
  • Wir fördern den Austausch zwischen Museen und den Nutzern unserer Medien in einem Innovationsnetzwerk.
  • In unserem Lab arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern an neuen Ideen und deren Verwirklichung.

Unser Team

Christel Clerc

Christel Clerc
Studentische Hilfskraft

Jens Dobberthin

Jens Dobberthin
Wissenschaftliche Co-Leitung & multimediale Entwicklung und Forschung

Dr. Anke Hoffmann

Dr. Anke Hoffmann
Koordinatorin für mediale Angebote

Dr. Jana Hoffmann

Dr. Jana Hoffmann
Wissenschaftliche Beratung

Tina Schneider

Tina Schneider
Wissenschaftliche Co-Leitung & digitale Medien

Nadja Tata

Nadja Tata
Projektkoordination und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit