Mediasphere for Nature

The Mediasphere For Nature is the multimedia application lab at the Museum of Natural History Berlin. Our primary focus is to answer the question of how the museum’s digital media can be shared and used sustainably. We are actively shaping the museum’s digital offers and work closely together with diverse business partners. We are the first and currently the only media application lab at a research museum of the Leibniz Association to conduct applied research and break new ground.

What we offer

Media & Narrative

Innovation Network

Lab

Get an impression of the showcases and projects we have already successfully realized with our cooperation partners.

Learn more

News from our blog

Learn more about our project activities, upcoming events, the development of our lab as well as our cooperation with select companies.

Touch and feel: tactile panels with Spotted Woodpecker, Mason Bee & Co.

By Nadja Tata (MfN) on 30.10.2020

As of this fall, birds and insects can be experienced in the tactile exhibition “Bahnbrechende Natur” at Schöneberger Südgelände. The templates for the 3D graphics are objects from the collection of the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.

Continue reading

MediaLab Meetup digital

By Nadja Tata (MfN), Andrea Geipel (DMD) and Johannes Sauter (DMD) on 05.08.2020

On September 17th, Mediasphere For Nature and Deutsches Museum Digital Munich will kick off their joint Meetup series. The first tandem event will take place digitally and will deal with questions about the possibilities of cooperation between media professionals, students and museum-held media application labs (MediaLab).

Continue reading

The barrier-free crocodile – an exhibit for the senses

By Nadja Heinisch und Eva Waldherr (werk5) on 28.04.2020

In a cooperation project of the Mediasphere For Nature and werk5, an original specimen of a saltwater crocodile from the collection of the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin was digitized by 3D scanning. A full-size 3D model was created that cannot only be admired visually but can also be explored through our senses of hearing and touching.

Continue reading

Skelex - Touching and dismantling allowed!

By Nadja Heinisch on 03.04.2020

‘Skelex’ is a virtual reality application that allows users to interactively explore exhibits of the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. What is usually forbidden in the museum becomes possible with the virtual application: grabbing and pulling objects apart and much more.

Continue reading

Future events

Expand your own network by attending one of our future events.

MediaLab Meetup digital, 17th September 2020, 10-12 am on ZOOM

Mediasphere for Nature

Die Mediasphere For Nature ist das multimediale Applikationslabor am Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Im Mittelpunkt steht für uns die Beantwortung der Frage, wie digitale Medien des Museums für Naturkunde nachhaltig geteilt und genutzt werden können. Wir gestalten aktiv die digitalen Angebote des Museums und arbeiten gezielt mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft zusammen. Als erstes und derzeitig einziges Applikationslabor eines Forschungsmuseums der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft betreiben wir angewandte Forschung und betreten neue Pfade.

Unsere Angebote

Medien & Narrative

Innovationsnetzwerk‭

Lab

Verschaffen Sie sich einen Eindruck von den Showcases und Projekten,‭ ‬die wir bereits erfolgreich mit‭ ‬unseren Kooperationspartnern‭ ‬realisiert haben.

Mehr erfahren

Aus unserem Blog

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Aktivitäten im Projekt, geplante Veranstaltungen,‭ ‬die Entwicklungen unseres Labs und unsere Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Unternehmen.

Ertasten und fühlen: taktile Tafeln mit Buntspecht, Mauerbiene und Co.

Von Nadja Tata (MfN) am 30.10.2020

Die Ausstellung „Bahnbrechende Natur“ im Schöneberger Südgelände macht seit diesem Herbst Vögel und Insekten inklusiv erfahrbar. Die Vorlagen für die 3D-Grafiken stammen aus der Sammlung des Museums für Naturkunde Berlin.

Weiterlesen

MediaLab Meetup digital

Von Nadja Tata (MfN), Andrea Geipel (DMD) und Johannes Sauter (DMD) am 05.08.2020

Am 17. September gibt es den Auftakt zur gemeinsamen Meetup-Reihe der Mediasphere For Nature und des Deutschen Museum Digital München. Die erste Tandemveranstaltung wird digital stattfinden und sich mit Fragen rund um die Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Medienprofis, Studenten und museumseigenen Media-Applikationslaboren (MediaLab) beschäftigen.

Weiterlesen

Das barrierefreie Krokodil – ein Exponat für die Sinne

Von Nadja Heinisch und Eva Waldherr (werk5) am 28.04.2020

Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsprojekts der Mediasphere For Nature und werk5 wurde aus der Sammlung des Museums für Naturkunde Berlin ein Originalpräparat eines Leistenkrokodils mittels 3D-Scan digitalisiert. Aus den gewonnenen Daten konnte anschließend ein 3D-Modell in Originalgröße entwickelt werden, das nicht nur visuell bestaunt, sondern auch über unseren Hör- und Tastsinn erkundet werden kann.

Weiterlesen

Skelex - Anfassen und Auseinandernehmen erlaubt!

Von Nadja Heinisch am 03.04.2020

„Skelex“ ist eine Virtual-Reality-Anwendung, die den Nutzer Ausstellungsstücke des Museum für Naturkunde Berlin virtuell erkunden lässt. Was sonst im Museum verboten ist, wird mit der virtuellen Applikation möglich: Greifen und Auseinanderziehen von Objekten und vieles mehr.

Weiterlesen

Zukünftige Veranstaltungen

Erweitern Sie ihr eigenes Netzwerk, indem Sie eine unserer zukünftigen Veranstaltungen besuchen.

MediaLab Meetup digital, 17. September 2020, 10-12 Uhr auf ZOOM